Our Team

Our Team

A majority of our fellowship trained faculty are represented in Best Doctors® in America, Castle Connolly Top Doctors, and Madison Magazine Top Doctors.

We have assembled a broad range of specialty-trained urologists who perform thousands of complex and unique procedures each year, but we measure our success one patient at a time.

Our department has a dedicated and experienced team working to ensure the best possible patient care every day while remaining focused on identifying new treatments and cures for current and future generations.

Urology Faculty

E. Jason Abel, MD, FACS

Credentials: Associate Professor (CHS)
Head, Section of Urologic Oncology
Robert and Dolores K. Schnoes Chair in Urologic Research
Dyad Lead, Inpatient Urology

Position title: Specialties: Minimally Invasive Surgery, Urologic Oncology

Email: abel@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-4563

Sara Best, MD

Credentials: Associate Professor (CHS)
Director of Simulation Education

Position title: Specialties: Adult Stone Disease, Minimally Invasive Surgery

Email: best@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-5440

Vinaya Bhatia, MD

Credentials: Assistant Professor (CHS)
Director of Medical Student Programs

Position title: Specialty: Pediatric Urology

Email: bhatia@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-0475

Tudor Borza, MD, MS

Credentials: Assistant Professor

Position title: Specialties: Minimally Invasive Surgery, Urologic Oncology

Email: borza@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-5440

Shannon T. Cannon, MD

Credentials: Assistant Professor (CHS)
Director of DEI, Urology

Position title: Specialty: Pediatric Urology

Email: cannon@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-4563

Walid Farhat, MD,
FRCSC, FACS

Credentials: Professor (CHS)
Chief, Division of Pediatric Urology
Mark and Karen Koulogeorge Chair in Urology

Position title: Specialties: Pediatric Urology

Email: farhat@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-0475

Andrew K. Graf, MD

Credentials: Professor (CT)

Position title: Specialties: General Urology

Email: andrew.graf@uwmf.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 287-2900

Dan R. Gralnek, MD

Credentials: Assistant Professor (CHS)
Director of HOLEP Program

Position title: Specialties: Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia (BPH), General Urology

Email: gralnek@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-0759

Matthew D. Grimes, MD

Credentials: Assistant Professor (CHS)

Position title: Specialties: Genitourinary Reconstruction, Male Sexual Health

Email: grimes@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-0759

Sean P. Hedican, MD

Credentials: Associate Professor (CHS)

Position title: Specialties: Urologic Oncology, Adult Stone Disease

Email: hedican@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-4563

David F. Jarrard, MD

Credentials: Professor
Vice Chair in Urology
John P. Livesey Chair in Urologic Oncology
Associate Director, UW Carbone Cancer Center

Position title: Specialties: Minimally Invasive Surgery, Urologic Oncology

Email: jarrard@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-0759

Margaret Knoedler, MD

Credentials: Clinical Instructor

Position title: Specialties: Adult Stone Disease, Minimally Invasive Surgery

Email: knoedler@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-4563

Craig J. Kozler, MD

Credentials: Assistant Professor (CT)

Position title: Specialties: General Urology

Email: kozler@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-9534

Brian V. Le, MD, MA

Credentials: Associate Professor (CHS)

Position title: Specialties: General Urology, Male Sexual Health

Email: leb@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-5440

Frank Lin, MD, MS

Credentials: Assistant Professor (CHS)

Position title: Specialties: Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery (Urogynecology), Minimally Invasive Surgery

Email: lin@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-0759

Christopher M. Manakas, MD

Credentials: Assistant Professor (CHS)
UW Health Physician Informaticist, Urology

Position title: Specialties: Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia (BPH), General Urology

Email: manakas@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-9534

Sarah E. McAchran, MD, FACS

Credentials: Associate Professor (CHS)
Vice Chair for Faculty Development and Wellness
Dyad Lead, Outpatient Urology

Position title: Specialties: Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery (Urogynecology)

Email: mcachran@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-5440

Stephen Y Nakada, MD,
FACS, FRCS

Credentials: Professor
Chairman, Department of Urology
The David T. Uehling Chair in Urology
Chief Administrative Physician, UWMF Practice Plan

Position title: Specialties: Adult Stone Disease, Minimally Invasive Surgery

Email: nakada@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-1359

David R. Paolone, MD

Credentials: Associate Professor (CHS)
Vice Chair for Regional Urology

Position title: Specialties: General Urology, Male Sexual Health

Email: david.paolone@uwmf.wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-5440

Kyle A. Richards, MD, FACS

Credentials: Associate Professor (CHS)
Chief of VA Urology

Position title: Specialties: Urologic Oncology, Minimally Invasive Surgery

Email: richardsk@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-9534

William Ricke, PhD

Credentials: Professor
UWMF Professor of Urologic Research
Director of the George M. O’Brien Center

Email: rickew@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-3202

Daniel Shapiro, MD

Credentials: Assistant Professor (CHS)

Position title: Specialties: Urologic Oncology, Minimally Invasive Surgery

Email: shapiro@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-0759

Ruthie Su, MD, MS

Credentials: Assistant Professor (CHS)

Position title: Specialties: Minimally Invasive Urologic Surgery, Pediatric Urology

Email: su@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-0475

Daniel H. Williams IV, MD

Credentials: Professor (CHS)
Vice Chair for Education
Residency Program Director
UWMF Professor in Clinical Urology

Position title: Specialties: Male Infertility, Male Sexual Health

Email: williams@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-4563

Advance Practice Providers

Ann Byrne, NP

Credentials: Pediatric Nurse Practitioner

Email: AByrne@uwhealth.org

Phone: (608) 263-6420

Andrea Christensen, NP

Credentials: Nurse Practitioner

Email: achristensen@uwhealth.org

Phone: (608) 263-4757

Kristin L. Doerfer, NP

Credentials: Nurse Practioner

Email: kdoerfer@uwhealth.org

Phone: (608) 263-4757

Ashli Ellison, NP

Credentials: Nurse Practitioner

Email: AEllison@uwhealth.org

Phone: (608) 263-4757

Jennika L. Finup, NP

Credentials: Pediatric Nurse Practitioner

Email: JFinup@uwhealth.org

Phone: (608) 263-6420

Laura Hermsen, PA

Credentials: Physician Assistant

Email: LHermsen@uwhealth.org

Phone: (608) 263-4757

Sara Hermsen, PA

Credentials: Physician Assistant

Email: SHermsen@uwhealth.org

Phone: (608) 287-2900

Theresa Hollnagel, PA

Credentials: Physician Assistant

Email: thollnagel@uwhealth.org

Phone: (608) 263-4757

Bunmi Kumapayi, RN, MS,
APNP, BC-NP

Credentials: Nurse Practioner

Email: bkumapayi@uwhealth.org

Phone: (608) 263-4757

Katie Melde, NP

Credentials: Nurse Practitioner

Email: KMelde@uwhealth.org

Phone: (608) 824-6160

Dana Perry, NP

Credentials: Pediatric Nurse Practitioner

Email: dperry2@uwhealth.org

Phone: (608) 263-6420

Susette Thompson, PA-C

Credentials: Physician Assistant

Email: sthompson6@uwhealth.org

Phone: (608) 263-4757

Anne Walsh, PA-C

Credentials: Physician Assistant

Email: AWalsh@uwhealth.org

Phone: (608) 287-2900

Fellows

Ashanda Esdaille, MD

Position title: Urologic Oncology Fellow

Email: esdaille@urology.wisc.edu

Christopher Haas, MD

Position title: Endourology Fellow

Email: haas@urology.wisc.edu

Residents

Stephanie Dresner, MD

Credentials: PGY-5

University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Medicine, 2017

Jason Flamiatos, MD, MPH

Credentials: PGY-5

Oregon Health & Science University School of Medicine, 2017

Simone Vernez, MD

Credentials: PGY-5

University of California, Irvine School of Medicine, 2017

Marissa Falkiewicz, MD

Credentials: PGY-4

Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, 2018

Jordan Krieger, MD

Credentials: PGY-4

Baylor College of Medicine, 2018

Emily Serrell, MD

Credentials: PGY-4

Tufts University School of Medicine, 2018

Jeremy Goodman, MD

Credentials: PGY-3

University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine, 2019

Rachael Sherrer, MD

Credentials: PGY-3

University of Alabama School of Medicine, 2019

Jeremiah Umoh, MD, MS

Credentials: PGY-3

Meharry Medical College, 2019

Zoe Blumenthal, MD

Credentials: PGY-2

Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Medicine, 2020

Arighno Das, MD

Credentials: PGY-2

Northwestern University The Feinberg School of Medicine, 2020

Ali Ghasemzadeh, MD, PHD

Credentials: PGY-2

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, 2020

Andrew Carey, MD

Credentials: PGY-1

University of Utah School of Medicine, 2021

Emily Davidson, MD

Credentials: PGY-1

University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, 2021

Jacob Stevens, MD

Credentials: PGY-1

The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, 2021

PhD Faculty & Scientists

Teresa Liu, PhD

Credentials: K01 Scholar/Scientist I

Email: liu@urology.wisc.edu

Kristina Penniston, PhD

Credentials: Senior Scientist

Email: penn@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-9797

Petra Popovics, PhD

Credentials: K01 Scholar/Scientist l

Email: popovics@urology.wisc.edu

William Ricke, PhD

Credentials: Professor
UWMF Professor of Urologic Research
Director of the George M. O’Brien Center

Email: rickew@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-3202

Affiliate Faculty Researchers

Dale E. Bjorling, DVM

Credentials: Professor of Surgical Sciences
O’Brien Center Biomed Core Co-Director
Associate Dean of Research, School of Veterinary Medicine

Email: bjorling@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-4808 | Fax: (608) 263-7930

Wei Huang, PhD

Credentials: Professor (CHS), Pathology

Email: whuang23@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-5787

Chad Vezina, PhD

Credentials: Associate Professor of Comparative Biosciences
O’Brien Center Associate Director

Email: chad.vezina@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 890-3235

Rehired Annuitants

Reginald C. Bruskewitz, MD

Credentials: Professor Emeritus

Email: bruske@urology.wisc.edu

Wade A. Bushman, MD, PhD

Credentials: Senior Scientist

Email: bushman@urology.wisc.edu

John D. Wegenke, MD

Credentials: Clinical Professor Emeritus

Email: wegenke@wisc.edu

Staff

Jennifer Allmaras, MPH

Credentials: Researcher

Position title: Collaborating for the Advancement of Interdisciplinary Research in Benign Urology (CAIRIBU), NIH/NIDDK U24 Interactions Core

Christina Brugger

Credentials: Development Coordinator

Email: brugger@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-0043

Debi Burkhardt

Credentials: Senior Medical Program Assistant

Position title: Administrative Assistant to Drs. Abel, Cannon, Grimes, and Knoedler

Email: burkhardt@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-4563

Hannah Dickman

Credentials: Senior Medical Program Assistant

Position title: Administrative Assistant to Drs. Best, Borza, Le, McAchran, and Paolone

Email: dickman@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-5440

Stephen J. Hall, CPA

Credentials: Chief Administrative Officer, Urology

Email: hall@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-9032

Tricia A. Maier

Credentials: Senior Executive Assistant

Position title: Administrative Assistant to
Dr. Stephen Y. Nakada

Email: maier@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-1359

Sandra L. Miller

Credentials: Senior Content Editor

Email: smiller@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-8695

Denise A. Mussehl

Credentials: Educational Programs Manager

Email: mussehl@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-2910

Teri Ott

Credentials: Senior Accountant

Email: ott@urology.wisc.edu

Anna Peacock

Credentials: Education Coordinator

Email: peacock@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-1363

Stevie Riddle

Credentials: Senior Medical Program Assistant

Position title: Administrative Assistant to Drs. Bhatia, Jarrard, Kozler, Manakas, Richards, and Mr. Stephen J. Hall

Email: riddle@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-9534

Allegra Roberts

Credentials: Senior Medical Program Assistant

Position title: Administrative Assistant to Drs. Gralnek, Hedican, Lin, and Shapiro

Email: roberts@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-0759

Alexa Rose

Position title: Research Specialist

Email: rose@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: 608-265-9929

Julie Rowe

Credentials: Senior Medical Program Assistant
Pediatric Urology Division Coordinator

Position title: Administrative Assistant to Drs. Farhat, Su, and Williams

Email: rowej@urology.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-0475